Caged!

image

Half past six
City lights spread the streets.
I peep out of my windowsill
Gazing at the traffic underneath.

Faraway a Nightingale sings
a beautiful melody,
echo the calm forest.

The alarm clock invades my thought
Pulling me back
As I cling to my hope’s twine
Longing for my private paradise.

Swallowing the potion of certainty,
I shake the thoughts off my shoulders.
And lock my dreams
behind those iron bars.
Resuming to continue
my caged life.

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 thoughts on “Caged!

  1. Really love the line: ‘Swallowing the potion of certainty / I shake my thoughts off my shoulders’. It has a shivering, uncanny feeling about it, especially as the word ‘certainty’ is undercut by the juxtaposed ambiguity of the poem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

